Props for “First They Came for…”

I recieved a wonder facebook email from a gentlemen in the UK who wanted to let me know how much he enjoyed First They Came for…

I was deeply touched and moved, but I’m terrible with complements, so I don’t know what to say other than “Thank you, you made my day.”  But making a film is truly a collobrative effort I didn’t make FTCF alone. I had a wonderful team that should be thanked as well.

But the gentleman’s email made me think that I should post some of these wonderful comments about the film so I can share then with the cast/crew and the blog readers.

So here are some of the non-you tube comments First They Came for….has recieved.

Kate, I watched [your film] on You Tube. It is an awesome short film. Great work and I look forward to seeing more in the future.

-Joe Gufreda

 

My name is Andrew Gilbert. I was the writer, producer and cinematographer for Cellar Door, a movie also shown at the IFIF. I didn’t get a chance to see you while we were there, but I wanted to say that I thought your film was very well done. I think that’s a great compliment to a new filmmaker, you did a great job with the money you had. Oh well, keep at it.

 

Cheers,

Andrew Gilbert

 

I just saw the clip of “First They Came For… ”

Excellent work… The poem was read each year on Remembrance Day at school while growing up and I’ve never forgotten it. I liked the 21st century version of it.

I’ve grown up in a mostly secular anglican country having originated from an iranian muslim background and my girlfriend (hopefully, one day finacée) is of russian orthodox jewish background. Moreover, my best friend is gay.

I think your film covers our concerns perfectly.

Good luck with all future productions and do let me know if any are showing here in the UK, especially the London area.

All the best

Michael

 

Wow. first, holistically. that is very one provoking film. really makes you stop and think.

secondly, individually. YOU ROCK! talk about intense! you are so cool! Now instead of telling kids that Vincent Price is in a room you don’t want them to go in, I’ll tell them you’re in there.

-Bethany

 

Kate,

 

I really liked “First They Came For.” You had great images and told your story well. Scott ends up in a lot of these Indiana movies, but this was probably the first film I really enjoyed him in. You painted a haunting portrayal of where we may be going in this world. I’d like to see more of your stuff in the future.

 

Best,

 

Kelly Lynch

 

Dear Kate,

Thanks so much for being in touch. I very much like the idea of your film.

Jen Nedbalsky

Human Rights Watch

Leave a Reply

