Working on the Screenwriting Web Series

This week I’ve been diving into scripting the screenwriting web series. Veronica and I have 13 parts to script out before filming. Good news is I got the first 3 written this week. I’m modeling the web series after the in-person class we gave at the Karmic Courage Workshops in September-November 2010. We are taking the 14 hours of the class into 10 minute bits to put on the web. The hope with the project is to help, educate, motivate and entertain writers and filmmakers about screenwriting. We’re doing this not to fill our egos, or feel self-important but rather to share our courage in aiding filmmakers and writers to complete their best work. As more work is produced in the community, it benefits us all.

Personally I will miss the person-to-person interaction. I get a lot of feedback verbally and non-verbally when I give a workshop. I can immediately tell if my examples are helpful or not, if I need to go into more detail if I have lost faces. If I need to slow down if I get a multitude of questions on a topic. Luckily Veronica and I are always online so we can answer questions on our blogs or in the comment section of the videos we post. Having the classes online will help as many of our issues with students was availability. Many are working on various film projects and it was hard to dedicate 6 or 8 weeks to a class. This way people can click on a video when they have the time and watch it over again if they need a refresher later. I’m excited about the web series, it’s going to be tons of fun to film and I think people will dig the information as much as they do at in-person workshops.

Lastely there has been the question of why me? Why am I giving workshops on screenwriting, what experience do I have? Fair question. As I posted on facebook this week:

[I] Can’t believe I’ve been writing screenplays for 19 years now. 21 short scripts completed, 8 feature scripts completed, countless WIP, and 7 screenplays produced into films. I should be tired but my mind has been thinking about 3 more scripts I want to write this month.

Leave a Reply

