New Script Supervisor Log

5

February 27, 2012 by Kate Chaplin

I’ve made a living doing Script Supervisor work since 2009. I’ve been asked to use logs that the producers/editor created, I’ve paid money for the standard industry forms, and I’ve made my own forms based on the request of directors/editors/producers.

I’ve come to realize that a large proportions of independent producers/directors don’t know what a SS does and doesn’t do. Even industry standard forms and the script markup are confusing to some. I won’t bore you with the details of what a SS actually does because there are many more great websites for that, but I do recommend that those who know and don’t know what an SS does check out this great interview http://therumpus.net/2011/07/whats-a-script-supervisor-the-rumpus-interview-with-andrea-manners/

For “Home Security” I wrote/directed/edited for “The Collective” for Jabb Pictures I worked with Kylee Wall as SS. She used the standard industry form.

It wasn’t still I was deep into editing that realized what a pain the paperwork for a editor can be. I had the SS log, a sound log, and notes on each film clip about performance, shot, etc. Most times I referenced all three logs and thought “can’t there be a better way of having all the information an editor needs on one document?

For my next gig “Gamer Chick: Season 3” I made a new log, combining the industry standard form and adding/subtracting what fields are actually referenced in independent film productions.

For example, I used to write down what lens size and F stop for each shot. This documentation is designed for reshoot info, but some of the productions I work on won’t have the funds for reshoots so they need to get it now or fix it in post. The field for lens, though helpful, wasn’t being used. Where as adding a “Sound File” field was more likely to be used to pair the visual film clip with the separate audio file.

I recommend that a SS fills out this log with pencil so an editor can correct sound/clips file names as needed and continue to have one log for reference.

I offer this form free of charge. Download it, edit it for your specific needs. I don’t need any credit for it, I just hope it helps.

Download here: Script Super Log

5 thoughts on “New Script Supervisor Log

  1. This is my first time go to see at here and i am in fact impressed to read everthing at one place.

  2. La Fonda Smith says:

    Kate, you are so lucky. You have been working as a S. S. and it seems you really enjoyed what you were doing. Kate, this is the stage I’m trying to get to even though I am over 45..lol. Are you located in Atlanta, Georgia. I await your reply.

    Thanks for your awesome insight/log. Your a nice person.
    La Fonda

    • Kate Chaplin says:

      Thank you for your kind words, I appreciate it. I’m in Indianapolis, IN. I used to live in Savannah, GA and miss it. If you’re in Atlanta have you thought of interning or getting an S.S job with Tyler Perry’s studio? He’s doing some amazing work.

      • Bobby says:

        Hey Katie great post, just wondered if you could explain the script page sample you posted, what the lines and numbers mean and correlate to.

        Thanks and good luck
        Bobby

      • Kate Chaplin says:

        Sure! The numbers (in this case 33) refer to the scene number. “A” or “B” refers to camera A or B. Sometimes there is more than one camera running capturing different action/dialogue. The 1/2/3 that follow are the take number. So the first number circled you see is 33A/1 meaning: Scene 33, A Camera, Take 1. Also the lines from that number relate to what was captured on camera. A solid line means it’s in camera the sqwiggle means it was off camera. This is used for close ups of one actor in a two person dialogue, one actor is on camera and not the other. Hope this helps!

Leave a Reply

Kate Chaplin


Hi! I'm Kate! I'm a filmmaker, author, and public speaker.

My screenplays and novels contain mythic themes of strength, personal power and identity. I have 4 books released, The Belief Test, The Celebration Diet, Ingenue: Portrait of the Film, and Mythic Waters: Shoki's Bag.

I've made 14 film projects and won some very cool awards in Hollywood as well as Indiana. I've work on over 50 projects including those produced by VH1, MTV, CMT and the Discovery Channel.

I lead workshops and talks about writing, filmmaking and women's empowerment at festivals, libraries and schools.

I hope you find what you are looking for on this blog, if not message me, I'm always looking to help out writers and filmmakers.

Karmic Courage Productions

Shoki’s Bag

The Celebration Diet

The Belief Test

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 692 other followers

