“Blurred Lines” of Robin Thicke

Robin-Thicke-Blurred-Lines-Dirty3

Why is it that the most catchy songs hide the most cruel and demeaning lyrics?

I first heard Robin Thicke’s new song Blurred Lines on the Graham Norton Show on BBC One. VIDEO. I thought it was incredibly catchy and my foot was tappin’ then around “you’re the hottest bitch in this place” I started to actually listen to the lyrics and I was insulted.

It’s about turning women into prostitutes, objects, things, animals and borderline supports sexual assault.

SONG

Read the full lyrics here

“Blurred Lines”
(feat. T.I. & Pharrell Williams)

OK now he was close, tried to domesticate you
But you’re an animal, baby, it’s in your nature
Just let me liberate you
Hey, hey, hey
You don’t need no papers
Hey, hey, hey
That man is not your maker

“Tried to domesticate you”  Are women feral cats roaming alleyways needing an owner to domesticate them?

“But you’re an animal, Baby it’s in your nature” Okay so I was right women are being compared to feral cats, animals, not even human. And we want to roam the night. Sounds like prostitutes to me.

“Let me liberate you” You mean be a woman’s pimp?

“Don’t need no papers” When I hear this I think of breeders – again animals and not even human, or women kidnapped and sold into slavery. Either way, not empowering.

“That man is not your maker” the ONLY line in the whole song that can be seen as female empowerment and a case that Thicke himself points out in almost every interview to defend the song.

[Chorus: Robin Thicke]
And that’s why I’m gon’ take a good girl
I know you want it
I know you want it
I know you want it
You’re a good girl
Can’t let it get past me
You’re far from plastic
Talk about getting blasted
I hate these blurred lines
I know you want it
I know you want it
I know you want it
But you’re a good girl
The way you grab me
Must wanna get nasty
Go ahead, get at me

Just reading between the lines here, is he saying that he wants a “good girl” (no idea what his version of this is, from the video I can guess) and get her drunk and blur the lines between good and nasty in the bedroom? That almost sounds like sexual assault to me. And goes back to the women stereotype of woman should be a cook in the kitchen, a lady in the parlor, and a whore in the bedroom.

[Verse 2: Robin Thicke]
What do they make dreams for
When you got them jeans on
What do we need steam for
You the hottest bitch in this place
I feel so lucky
Hey, hey, hey
You wanna hug me
Hey, hey, hey
What rhymes with hug me?
Hey, hey, hey

[sarcasm warning] Oh how I love it when a man combines bitch and hot. Are we going back to the animal references again of a female dog? or are we going straight to derogatory land, do not pass go, do not collect $200.

[Verse 3: T.I.]

One thing I ask of you
Let me be the one you back that ass to
Go, from Malibu, to Paris, boo
Yeah, I had a bitch, but she ain’t bad as you
So hit me up when you passing through
I’ll give you something big enough to tear your ass in two
Swag on, even when you dress casual
I mean it’s almost unbearable
Then, honey you’re not there when I’m
With my foresight bitch you pay me by
Nothing like your last guy, he too square for you
He don’t smack that ass and pull your hair like that
So I just watch and wait for you to salute
But you didn’t pick
Not many women can refuse this pimpin’
I’m a nice guy, but don’t get it if you get with me

So this is T.I’s contribution to the song implying that he’s a nice guy but not in the bedroom and really that’s all he wants women for anyway. He’s the pimp and he wants free access anytime he wants, anywhere he is.

[Bridge: Robin Thicke]
Shake the vibe, get down, get up
Do it like it hurt, like it hurt
What you don’t like work?

Work=prostitution.

[Pre-chorus: Robin Thicke]
Baby can you breathe? I got this from Jamaica
It always works for me, Dakota to Decatur, uh huh
No more pretending
Hey, hey, hey
Cause now you winning
Hey, hey, hey
Here’s our beginning

I think he just drugged her and sold her to prostitution.

VIDEO

So the video has millions of views for the unrated and clean version. There is a great side-by side video you can watch below.

In the clean version, you’ll see women in plastic clothes over underwear/shorts. Animal references such as mouthing “meow”, holding a sheep, riding a fake dog and even women on all fours like animals.

In the unrated version the woman are topless and wear a nude colored g-string. A few things different I noticed in the videos. The men mostly keep their distance from the naked women, also one girl seems very nervous about showing her boobs. There is a woman getting a  medical shot in the butt, I assume being drugged by Robin Thicke. Lastly there are the balloons that spell out “Robin Thicke has a big dick.” Not subtle.

CONTROVERSY 

Some critics say

the tune is not just disparaging to women, but could be seen as rape-y. 

“The nudity might be fine if the song was called, ‘Let’s All Have Some Fun,’ but it’s called ‘Blurred Lines,’ and the subject itself is enough to make some female music fans uncomfortable,” Tricia Romano (Daily Beast), who called the song “kind of rapey,” wrote. “The song is about how a girl really wants crazy wild sex but doesn’t say it — positing that age-old problem where men think no means yes into a catchy, hummable song.”

Robin Thick himself even said in GQ Magazine

 We tried to do everything that was taboo. Bestiality, drug injections, and everything that is completely derogatory towards women. Because all three of us are happily married with children, we were like, “We’re the perfect guys to make fun of this.”

People say, “Hey, do you think this is degrading to women?” I’m like, “Of course it is. What a pleasure it is to degrade a woman. I’ve never gotten to do that before. I’ve always respected women.” So we just wanted to turn it over on its head and make people go, “Women and their bodies are beautiful. Men are always gonna want to follow them around.”

I find it embarrassing that self-called “perfect guys” choose their platform of fame and press to degrade women and look like they are having fun doing it. They could have made a real statement about how women’s bodies are beautiful without it seeming like sexual harassment, objectification and discrimination.

I will also ask this question – when is degrading a person fun?

Answer: when a catchy song is playing behind the video.

Robin Thicke’s Dad, fictional TV dad Mr. Seaver, has come out to say the song is

“it’s kinda female empowerment when you look at it.”

Full article here  As a woman, who can read lyrics and watch a video it’s not empowerment. Empowerment is giving the ability or permission to do or be something. I don’t want to be a prostitute or an object in a music video. I don’t want to have guys chasing me saying “you know you want it.” If it’s implied that the song will empower women to be more adventurous in the bedroom, I thought that’s why we have Fifty Shades of Grey, Game of Thrones…the list goes on and on.

What we actually need is more real female empowerment.

Robin Thicke himself has gone on record HERE saying to Howard Stern

“It has this she’s (Paula Patton) a good girl, but she wants to be a bad girl.’ It’s very much about my wife. My wife is Ms. Good Girl. Gradually over our marriage, I’ve turned her into a bad girl.”

So the song is inspired by his wife and that is between him and her on how they express themselves and her comfort zone with hair pulling, being called a Bitch and so on. “My name’s Paul and that’s between y’all.”

But the song is catching on and damn if it’s not catchy and cute if you turn your mind off. Case in point Jimmy Fallon did a music room cover of the song and it makes you love this terrible song that is a step back for female empowerment. Its link is at the bottom.

Unrated Version

Comparison Video

Jimmy Fallon Music Room

UPDATE

A friend sent me this parody of switching the gender roles.

To which I’ve noticed that if the gender roles are reversed and it’s comical to see men acting like women or women acting like men, perhaps it’s insulting to the opposite gender. We’re human beings and we need to be seen equally empowered, powerful and flawed.

3 thoughts on ““Blurred Lines” of Robin Thicke

  1. Bret Robinson says:

    A little secret from the guy camp: A subsection of “men” are anything but. They are frightened of women, sexuality, and mostly the harsh judgment of other men. So, they over-compensate. Note that the lyrics could easily have been written by a 7th grader. That’s what this is–junior high. Sadly, many men don’t make it past that point emotionally. Strong men don’t have egos. Strong men have no need (or wish) to subjugate anybody. Strong men have nothing to prove. Catchy song, though.

Leave a Reply

